Home > Misc > Group view in yumex reworked

Group view in yumex reworked

I have for a while been unsatisfied with the group view in yumex, so i decided to change it.

Before: 

groups before

After:

groups after

If you want to try it out you can, check out the current yumex svn trunk.

Categories: Misc
  1. Dado
    July 2, 2007 at 09:44

    Hi,

    I tried you about a year ago and it was too slow for my old machine but this version is very good, if not faster, then it feels less “frozen” (which older ones did), great job!

    Anyhow, I think you could put the bottom text box to better use, for example, maybe adding a radio select where one could choose which data to display (description, changelog, etc.).

    If a package isn’t installed, then default to description, if it has an upgrade available, then default to changelog, etc. You get the idea.

    BTW my version (1.9.9 from F7 repos) doesn’t show package description when selected, group description remains there the whole time, but I see from your sshots that it works so no bug filling. 🙂

  2. Nicholas Adrian
    July 7, 2007 at 05:46

    Tim,
    I do like this new feature.
    People already familiar with a tree structure format. It is easy to understand and faster to get to the package we want.

    When you will include this feature?

    Nicholas

  3. tim
    July 8, 2007 at 08:12

    I have just pushed a 1.9.10 released to Fedora Updates Testing.

  4. rehan
    July 11, 2007 at 14:13

    Looking forward to the new version.

    Yum itself is now very fast. I believe they have improved performance in many areas. Does yumex utilise the same mechanisms or does it do things differently. With the ever increasing number of packages in repositories things could slow down again! I find that the time displayed to process the repositories ignores the time taken to download the data files (the process from start to finish) and feel somehow cheated by this value as I am sure I have been waiting longer 🙂 Of course you are not in control of a users internet speed but it might be an idea to also display the total time taken.

  5. tim
    July 11, 2007 at 14:29

    Yumex is build on top of the yum API, so it benefit from the speed improvments made in yum.
    There is no cheating with the times, it is show the time stamp when the string is printed.
    Most of the time yumex will load the repository data real fast, because most of the data is already loaded into the yum cache by the update checker applet.

  6. rehan
    July 11, 2007 at 15:27

    My bad. I like my desktop to be minimalist with respect to background applications so the applet is switched off. I guess I should switch it on 🙂 I do my updates manually as I like to see what will be being updated and also like to do updates once or twice a month rather than everyday.

    BTW I don’t think yumex is actually cheating! It just seems to be longer than the time displayed as the user also has to wait for the download of the repodata (in my case because I don’t run the applet).

    Still, these are only small issues. Yumex works well and is a very useful application I use on a daily basis practically.

    Rehan

  1. November 22, 2007 at 04:25

Leave a Reply

