Home > Misc > Tour de France

Tour de France

I am not much of a sports fan, but i have on weak spot, Tour de France, i followed the race in 20 years, sitting glued to the TV, 3 weeks every summer, this year it was better than it have been i a lot of years, an my favourite team CSC Saxo bank won the yellow jersey, the white jersey,  the team competition and 2 stages. I twas nice to see that Carlos ended up winning the race, i can’t think of any body deserve it as much as he does.

Categories: Misc
  1. July 28, 2008 at 12:15

    It was a great race this year with so many people being in GC contention right until the very end. And the mountain stages had some very exciting finishes as well.

  2. Max
    July 28, 2008 at 15:37

    I’ve been an avid TdF fan since the first time I remember watching it, in 1989 when Greg LeMond won by 8 seconds.

    I’m very glad Sastre won this year — it really annoys me that in the past couple of years, no one seems willing to attack on the mountain stages. The top contendors all just sit together and then wait around until the very last mountain of the tour to *maybe* do something.

    Sastre was the one guy who went for it, on the hardest day of racing, and I’m glad he won. If Evans would have won this race without attacking ever, it would have been really awful for the state of cycling tactics.

    Say what you want about Armstrong, but he didn’t just want to win. He wanted to beat people down while he won. The last two years, I feel like the racing tactics have become very conservative. Overall, I found this year’s race very boring to watch.

    Part of that though is that I didn’t get to enjoy the commentary from Phil and Paul, but rather Dutch and German commentary which I didn’t understand any of. But the stages themselves really lacked any attacks. Sastre was the only one, and good for him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

